Higher Education

Higher Education

Midland County sits at the heart of the some of the top rated higher educational institutes in the country.  World class research, business education, and medical instruction are just some of the highlights offered in and around Midland County.  These institutions provide a range of educational options from technical certificates, Bachelor's, Master's and Ph.D's.  

Northwood University (NU) is a private university in the United States with campuses in Midland, Michigan (opened in 1961), Cedar Hill, Texas (opened in 1966) and West Palm Beach, Florida (opened in 1984). Also, the university has four international joint programs, including one with Hotel Institute Montreux in Montreux, Switzerland, began in 2001. More than 33,000 persons have graduated from the institution.


Central Michigan University (CMU) is a public research university located in Mount Pleasant in the U.S. state of Michigan. Established in 1892, Central Michigan University is one of the nation's 100 largest public universities and the third largest in Michigan (behind Michigan – Ann Arbor, and Michigan State) with more than 20,000 students on its Mount Pleasant campus and another 7,000 enrolled online and at more than 60 locations worldwide. CMU offers 200 academic programs at the undergraduate, master's, specialist and doctoral levels, including nationally recognized programs in entrepreneurship, journalism, music, audiology, teacher education, psychology and physician assistant. CMU has also established a College of Medicine, which opened in fall 2013.[8] CMU competes in the NCAA Division I Mid-American Conference in seven men's and nine women's sports.


Davenport University is a private, non-profit, multi-location university located at 11 campuses throughout Michigan and online. It was founded in 1866 by Conrad Swensburg and currently offers Associate's, Bachelor's, and Master's Degrees,diplomas, and post-grad certification programs in business, technology, health professions, and graduate studies (MBA).


Mid Michigan Community College (MMCC) is a two-year public community college founded in 1965. The college has two full service locations, one in Harrison and one in Mt. Pleasant. MMCC offers one and two year certificates and associate degrees in transfer, occupational, and health science programs. Students can choose from a wide array of career programs like nursing, radiography, welding, CAD, and many others. MMCC’s transfer programs help students prepare for a four-year degree while earning valuable credits at an affordable cost.


Saginaw Valley State University (SVSU) is a state university in the U.S. state of Michigan. Originally founded in 1963 as Saginaw Valley College, it is located in the middle of Michigan's lower peninsula in Kochville Township, Saginaw County. However, its official address places it in University Center, Michigan, which it shares with Delta College (which is 3.3 miles (5.3 km) to the north-northwest, in Bay County's Frankenlust Township). It is the youngest of Michigan's 15 public colleges and universities.


Delta College is a two-year community college located southwest of Bay City, Michigan, United States. Delta College's district had its beginning in 1955 with Saginaw,Midland, and Bay counties making up the district. In 1957, the voters of the tri-counties approved the construction of the college, and it opened for classes in 1961. Delta College replaced Bay City Junior College, established in 1922, because the junior college could no longer support the growing enrollment. With Saginaw Valley College established in 1964, later renamed Saginaw Valley State College in 1975, and finally named Saginaw Valley State University in 1987, both Delta College and Saginaw Valley State University form University Center, Michigan.